Paralympic Swimmer Stephanie Dixon

I had the opportunity to meet an amazing multi-medalist Paralympian last week at PISE.  Stephanie Dixon is an incredibly inspiring young woman who has not allowed her disability to impede her dreams.  I have such respect and admiration for her and it was a great experience for me.  I’m a pretty determined elf as is but after an experience like that it makes me want to push harder towards my goals.  I will do it.

Read more about Stephanie Dixon:
www.amputee.ca/Stephanie_Dixon.htm
and also read about her record breaking Gold Medal achievement at the Beijing Olympics/Paralympics:
www.tsn.ca/olympics/story/?id=249353

We share a common goal in and outside the competitive arena.  To demonstrate that disabled people are just as capable as able bodied people although we may do some things differently.  We want to inspire others to pursue their dreams relentlessly despite any challenges faced by disability.  We try to encourage more media to put some spotlights on disabled sporting events and disabled athletes – both are often overlooked by media.  That fact makes all of us in this boat more determined to show that what we work for is just as worth watching as what able bodied athletes work for!

Leave a comment